Mark Keegan Scores F.A.S.T. Win at Attica Raceway Park

ATTICA, OH (6-11-10) by Bryan Autullo – FAST Public Relations

The Kistler Racing Products F.A.S.T. Championship Series presented by SRP Pistons/Engine Pro was back in action on Night #9 at Attica Raceway Park on what looked like it would be a stormy night.  Fortunately, the only storm that moved through the area was on the track as Mark Keegan netted his 56th career victory at the track he and his brother Larry built more than 20 years ago.  The win came on the 15th anniversary of the night Steve Kinser learned who Mark Keegan was as Keegan ran down the King for an Ohio Speedweek victory in 1995. 

The weather forecast did not deter the 410 sprint teams from towing to Attica as 33 cars pulled into the pit area to make their bid for the 2010 Kistler Cup trophy.  In a bizarre turn of events, Brandon Martin, Craig Mintz, Travis Philo, Bryan Sebetto, Brandon Wimmer, and Dale Blaney all made early exits with mechanical failures or bent up race cars.  Sebetto secured a ride to finish the night in the Robenalt Racing #98, but by F.A.S.T. Series rules was only awarded points while driving the car he started the night in. 

When the green flag flew for the A-main event, Scott Euler jumped into the early lead from his front row starting spot with Andrews, Jamie Miller and Mark Keegan close behind. Miller was able to take the lead on lap three, with Andrews, Keegan, Dale Blaney racing each other hard behind him. Andrews took the lead from Miller on lap 7. Miller and Dale Blaney raced side by side for third until Phil Gressman passed Blaney to grab fourth on lap 9.

A caution on lap 10 for Todd Heller slowed the action, but then Keegan resumed his pressure on Andrews while Blaney made it a three-car battle for the lead. Meanwhile Miller, Lee Jacobs, Gressman and Brock Mayes put on a show for fourth place. On lap 16, Blaney coasted to a stop in the infield, bringing out the caution. Andrews was leading over Keegan, Gressman, Jacobs, Miller, Byron Reed and Mayes on the restart. 

Andrews and Keegan ran nose to tail with Keegan ready to pounce at the first opportunity.  Andrews was fast in all four corners, but Keegan was having trouble getting through turn 4, allowing Andrews to pull away at the flag stand.  Lap after lap the two diced it out until Keegan finally made his move with less than 10 laps to go.  It was then Andrews who bobbled in turn 4, doing a complete 360 and bringing out the caution sending him to the tail.  It was clear sailing for Keegan on the restart with Gressman in tow.  Keegan pulled away with five to go and went on to collect his 56th win at Attica in the same week that he was inducted into the Fremont Speedway Hall of Fame and celebrated his 52nd birthday.

“I kind of forgot how to get up here (onto the horse track)…but it doesn’t take long to remember,” said Keegan in victory lane beside his Midwest Transportation backed #X. “It’s been awhile since I’ve been here. The trouble is there’s all these young kids that just mash on the gas and they’re fast. Tonight we had a little bit of luck. We didn’t have to start in the back of the heat and we didn’t have to run the B and we didn’t have to start in the back of the feature. This is a brand new JEI car and boy it’s pretty nice.”

“Dale (Blaney) was putting some pressure on me for second. Thank God for the caution. I was able to roll the wing back a little and it made the car better. I knew that I had to get past Chris (Andrews) because Dale was there. When the caution came out I saw Dale in the infield and I thought ‘boy this could be my night,’” added Keegan.

The FAST Championship Series will be back in action for Night #10 of 410 competition at “The Track That Action Built” (Fremont Speedway) on Saturday June 12th. Visit for details.
Kistler Racing Products FAST Night #9 – Attica Raceway Park – 6/11/10

Heat 1 – (8 Laps – Top 4 Transfer)
1. 3J-Kevin Lee; 2. 53-Phil Gressman; 3. 28-Shawn Valenti; 4. 93-Sheldon Haudenschild; 5. 47-Caleb Helms; 6. 91-Aaron Middaugh; 7. 26-Cody White; 8. 60-Jody Keegan; 9. 98-Bryan Sebetto

Heat 2 – (8 Laps – Top 4 Transfer)
1. 2-Dale Blaney; 2. 15C-Chris Andrews; 3. 11B-Brock Mayes; 4. 14H-Todd Heller; 5. 9Z-Duane Zablocki; 6. 45-Brian Lay; 7. 11D-Bryce Dickson; 8. 312-Mike Linder

Heat 3 – (8 Laps – Top 4 Transfer)
1. 24H-Lee Jacobs; 2. 5R-Byron Reed; 3. 97-Dean Jacobs; 4. 9X-Rob Chaney; 5. 10-David Harrison; 6. 28K-Todd Kane; 7. 2+-Brian Smith; 8. 5T-Travis Philo

Heat 4 – (8 Laps – Top 4 Transfer)
1. X-Mark Keegan; 2. 5M-Jamie Miller; 3. 27-Scott Euler; 4. OM-Bill Morrison; 5. O-Brandon Wimmer; 6. 11M-Brandon Martin; 7. 20X-Craig Mintz; 8. 16-Bryan Sebetto

B-Main – (10 Laps – Top 4 Transfer)
1. 9Z-Duane Zablocki; 2. 10-David Harrison; 3. 98-Bryan Sebetto; 4. 45-Brian Lay; 5. 28K-Todd Kane; 6. 2+-Brian Smith; 7. 47-Caleb Helms; 8. 312-Mike Linder; 9. 60-Jody Keegan; 10. 91-Aaron Middaugh; 11. 26-Cody White; 12. 11D-Bryce Dickson

A-Main – (30 Laps) [#]-Starting Position
1. X-Mark Keegan[6]; 2. 53-Phil Gressman[8]; 3. 24H-Lee Jacobs[5]; 4. 5R-Byron Reed[9]; 5. 11B-Brock Mayes[11]; 6. 3J-Kevin Lee[3]; 7. 98-Bryan Sebetto[19]; 8. 97-Dean Jacobs[12]; 9. 9X-Rob Chaney[15]; 10. 15C-Chris Andrews[1]; 11. 45-Brian Lay[20]; 12. 9Z-Duane Zablocki[17]; 13. 5M-Jamie Miller[4]; 14. 28-Shawn Valenti[10]; 15. OM-Bill Morrison[16]; 16. 93-Sheldon Haudenschild[13]; 17. 2-Dale Blaney[7]; 18. 14H-Todd Heller[14]; 19. 27-Scott Euler[2]; 20. 10-David Harrison[18]

Night #9 FAST Special Award Winners:
Butlerbuilt B-Main Winner: #9z Duane Zablocki
KSE Steering Hard Charger: #98 Bryan Sebetto (no bonus points awarded)
Weld Wheels Cool Move of the Race: #11b Brock Mayes
Hepfner Racing Products Tough Luck Award: #15 Chris Andrews

Night #9 FAST A-Main Certificate Winners:
1st – Fuel Safe, Zemco Headers, Competition Suspension: #X Mark Keegan
2nd – R2C Filters, Saldana Racing Products, Kinsler Injections: #53 Phil Gressman
3rd – Ti22 Performance, Keizer Wheels, OC Shocks: #24h Lee Jacobs
4th – Outerwears, King Racing Products: #5 Byron Reed
5th – DMI Race Components: #11b Brock Mayes

Visit to find out more about the F.A.S.T. Championship Series, the drivers, the rules, the schedule, the sponsors, and more.

FAST on Dirt, Inc. would like to thank the following contributors to the 2010 FAST Championship Series point fund:

Kistler Racing Products, Engine Pro, JE/SRP Pistons, Design Graphics Group, Inc, KS Sales & Service, Engler Machine & Tool, Oliver Rods, Henry MotorSports Inc., J&F Construction, Black Swamp Media Group,, Kears Speed Shop, Computer Man, Inc., SCS Gearbox,, Hoserville Ohio,, Level Performance, R&R Auto Wrecking, Reebar Diecasting, The King’s Den, FSR Radiator, Real Geese, Buckeye IT Services, High Vista Video, Racers Racing for a Cure, Gressman Powersports, NAPA (Bryan, OH), Gaerte Engines, Action Photos, PostNet (Fremont, OH), New York Life (Jeremy Shambaugh), Young’s RV Center, October Hills Farms, and OC Shocks

Also, a very special thanks to all of our contingency award sponsors:

R2C Filters, Hepfner Racing Products, TQ Fiberglass, Fuel Safe, Racing Optics, Rocket Headers, Wings Unlimited, VRP Shocks, Kinsler Injections, RAM Engineering Midwest, PRO Shocks, ButlerBuilt, Zemco Headers, Kinser Filters, Outerwears, Inc, DMI Race Components, Keizer Wheels, Linders Speed Equipment, Saldana Racing Products, XXX Race Components, Randy’s Racing Filters, Hinchman Indy Uniforms, King Racing Products, Golden Graphics, OC Shocks, Weld Wheels, KSE Steering, Competition Suspension, Inc, Ti22 Performance, All Pro Heads, FSR Radiator, Speed Meets Art, Productive Tools & Equipment, Arizona Sport Shirts, and Fisher Performance

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.